date
modification day
author
남유경
hits

[GUATEMALA] MARIA ANDREA BARQUIN VALLE (Int'l and Area Studies, MA)

Guatemala

MARIA ANDREA BARQUIN VALLE

International area studies, MA course

Hello fellow GSIS professors and students! I came to Korea from Guatemala City one year ago with the KGSP Scholarship Program. I have a BS degree on Agricultural Sciences, which I obtained from a specialized university in Costa Rica called EARTH University. EARTH University’s curriculum has a very strong emphasis on developing social and environmental awareness, responsibility and commitment. Therefore, during my academic years I was able to learn about different contemporary environmental problems and the importance and impact they have on our society. One of the reasons I decided to study agricultural sciences was because I wanted to learn and develop skills that would allow me to support and endorse the sustainable development of my country and other developing countries. During my academic and professional development, I have realized that the solutions to these problems do not only come from the technical support on agricultural systems and scientific understanding of the existing environmental problems, but also from the understanding of our society’s political, economic, cultural and social situation. Therefore I decided to enter the Graduate School of International Studies at PNU.